The 8th Junior International Conference on Cutting-Edge Organic Chemistry in Asia (Junior ICCEOCA-8)
The 4th Junior Advanced Research Network on Cutting-Edge Organic Chemistry in Asia (Junior ARNCEOCA-4)

October 29-31, 2018

Conference Handbook


A very warm welcome to Singapore!

On behalf of the organizing committee, I am delighted to welcome you to Singapore, for the 8th Junior International Conference on Cutting-Edge Organic Chemistry in Asia (Junior ICCEOCA-8) & the 4th Junior Advanced Research Network on Cutting-Edge Organic Chemistry in Asia (Junior ARNCEOCA-4), which is held at National University of Singapore from October 29-31, 2018. We are excited and looking forward to hosting this event for the delegates from Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Thailand, Mainland China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and Singapore. 

It is imperative to know that this event is connected with the ICCEOCA conference, an annual conference series that are held in the eight member countries/regions on a rotating basis. The Program has flourished since its inaugural first conference (ICCEOCA-1) in 2006 in Okinawa, Japan. Throughout the years, the annual conferences have been recognized as one of the most important conferences in organic chemistry and related fields in Asia. In this November (Nov. 1-4), the 13th ICCEOCA will be held in Bangkok, Thailand (

Since 2010, the junior ICCEOCA conference series has been set up that takes place right before the above mentioned conference. It is hosted to provide a platform and opportunity for graduate students, postdoctoral fellows to exchange cultures, information in cutting-edge organic chemistry research, and also to establish new ties in the future. It aims to foster the next generation of leading researchers by establishing sustainable collaborative relations among research/education institutions in Asian countries. In the past years, this junior conference series was held at National Tsing Hua University in Taiwan (Dec. 6-8, 2010), Xiamen University in China (Dec. 9-11, 2011), University of Malaya in Malaysia (Dec. 8-10, 2012), Semi-no-mori in Chiba, Japan (Nov. 22-25, 2013), Chulabhorn Research Institute in Thailand (Nov. 28-30, 2014), National Taiwan Normal University in Taiwan (Oct. 30-Nov. 1, 2015), Kyushu University in Japan (Oct. 24-26, 2016) and Lanzhou University in China (Oct. 30-Nov. 1, 2017). This year we are hoping to deliver with the same level of confidence.

I would like to thank all local committee members and international coordinators and assistants who have been actively involved in making this conference a reality. Special thanks go to National University of Singapore, Nanyang Technological University and Singapore National Institute of Chemistry for the strong support. I hope all of you will have a wonderful time in Singapore enjoying the culture, food and the new forged friendships. We are looking forward to your visit in Singapore and hope that everyone will be able totake good memories back home.


Committee of the 8th Junior ICCEOCA

Chairperson - Yu ZHAO





Prof. Yu ZHAO
Department of Chemistry
National University of Singapore
3 Science Drive 3, Singapore, 117543


Prof. Naohiko YOSHIKAI
Division of Chemistry & Biological Chemistry
School of Physical & Mathematical Sciences
Nanyang Technological University


Mr. Teng Wei NG
Department of Chemistry
National University of Singapore


SAWAMURA, Masaya                                Hokkaido University
RHEE, Young Ho                                       Pohang University of Science and Technology (POSTECH)
KIM, Hyunwoo                                            Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST)
LI, Ang                                                        Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry, CAS
CHIU, Pauline                                            The University of Hong Kong
LIN, Chun-Cheng                                       National Tsing Hua University
PLOYPRADITH, Poonsakdi                       Chulabhorn Research Institute
Abd. RAHMAN, Noorsaadah                      University of Malaya
CHOO, Yeun-Mun                                      University of Malaya
LEE, Yean Kee                                           University of Malaya